Things I Enjoyed In My Youth For Reasons I Don’t Understand Now

Or what the heck was i thinking?

Maybe the world is blind… September 15, 2008

Filed under: Fashion,TV — deannabanana @ 10:24 pm
Tags: ,

Or maybe just I was.  How else could you explain my wanting to dress like this:

This is definitely in the annals of “What Was I Thinking?”  Also, thank God my mother had some sense.

Granted I was eight when Punky Brewster first aired.  Granted she was abandoned by her mom and perhaps that was the excuse for the fact that she dressed like a colorblind homeless person.  But really?  Two different colored Converse?  A bandana tied around the knee?  What was it supposed to do there, anyway?  Serve as a tourniquette?  How did it stay up?  It wasn’t for another ten years that I realized that wearing one pant leg up had gang connotations.  Were we supposed to think this live-action Rainbow Brite was hardcore?

Of course, this show also introduced us to the star of another cheesy late 80s show:

 

Leave a Reply

