Things I Enjoyed In My Youth For Reasons I Don’t Understand Now

Or what the heck was i thinking?

Part of my Saturday morning routine… October 5, 2008

Filed under: Music,TV — deannabanana @ 6:54 pm
Tags: ,

When I was a kid (around 6 or 7 years old) my mom worked on Saturdays meaning my sister and I spent the morning with Dad.  Those were fun days.  First of all, my sister and I had pretty long hair (she still does, mine has varied throughout the years).  He only knew how to comb it one way so we’d wind up with longer versions of his hairstyle (which has not changed as long as I’ve been alive, except it’s more gray).  We had our morning tv routine and, when things got especially dire, he’d take us to a matinee.  We once watched The Care Bears Movie three times in one day.

So when he and I argue about Obama versus McCain, and he wonders where he went wrong because our ideologies are so vastly different from his, I can think about how much he really loves us because the man really has put up with a lot.  Case in point:

We watched this every Saturday without fail.  Mari and I would climb into his recliner with him and we’d watch it together.  To be honest, I think he secretly enjoyed it.  As some of my friends know, my dad is actually pretty hip when it comes to music.  (Imagine my surprise when I came home from college once to find he had learned all the words to “Shake Ya Ass” by Mystikal.  Talk about traumatic.)  So Kids Inc., which was really the TV precursor to those somehow popular Kidz Bop cds, really was a way for the three of us to share a common bond.

Watching the clips, it’s a reminder why drugs are bad.  Look at how cute and fresh-faced Fergie was before she became a meth-head:

Mario Lopez, on the other hand, was always kind of a meathead.

 

2 Responses to “Part of my Saturday morning routine…”

  1. Sara Says:

    I used to watch this! I had the biggest crush on Ryan Lambert.

  2. […] under: “Hip Hop”, Sports?, TV — deannabanana @ 12:33 am Tags: “Hip Hop”, Sports?, TV So, last post I talked about what my Dad, sister and I used to watch on Saturdays when my mom was away at work.  […]


Leave a Reply

