Things I Enjoyed In My Youth For Reasons I Don’t Understand Now

Or what the heck was i thinking?

The holy grail of embarrassment … July 4, 2010

Filed under: "Hip Hop",Music — deannabanana @ 10:03 pm

I haven’t posted on here in forever but I decided to revive this blog.

What better way to do that than with, what I consider, the holy grail of bad musical taste.

Yes.  “Pumps and a Bump.”  If you’ve seen “Too Legit: the MC Hammer Story,” you’ll recall the scene where Hammer (having dropped the MC in order to seem more “gangsta”) befriends Tupac and records this travesty.

Would it have been so bad if someone else had recorded it?  Hard to say.  But no one has been able to explain how you go from “We’ve got to pray just to make it today” to hanging with hos by the pool while sporting a Speedo.

I actually bought this album.  In contests for who owns the most embarrassing album,  I bring up this little mid-90s gem and no one ever seems to be able to top it.

If you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll go wash the shame off of me…

(Edited to add: Yeah, the quality of the video could make you queasy.  Unfortunately I can’t seem to find anything better on YouTube.)

 

Leave a Reply

